Help Us Celebrate These Exceptional Builders of Jewish Education

Each of BJE’s 2024 gala honorees has provided many years of service as Jewish community leaders. All have been active in their synagogues and their children’s schools as well as on the board of BJE. Our honorees chose varied routes for the Jewish education of their children, including part-time religious school, day school, summer camp and Israel experiences. All, however, share a deep family commitment to Jewish education.

Sharon De Mayo grew up in Italy. Upon moving to Los Angeles, Sharon and her husband, Luca, felt a warm welcome from Temple Isaiah, where they enrolled their two children in the Preschool. Both boys attend secular private schools and have participated in Temple Isaiah’s Religious School – one as a teaching assistant and the other as a guitar player during Tefillah.

Sharon served as VP of Education at Temple Isaiah for 6 years. She currently serves as a VP of the BJE board of directors and chairs the BJE Board Member Education & Engagement Committee.  

Alan Petlak is an alumnus of L.A. Jewish day schools. He and his wife Lisa chose Pressman Academy and Shalhevet High School for their 3 children and summers at Camp Ramah. The children’s education began at Pressman’s Early Childhood Center.

Alan serves on the board at Temple Beth Am.  At BJE, he is a secretary of the board and chairs the Planning and Budget Committee.  

Don Snyder and Rachael Gordon joined the BJE Board after participating in BJE’s Adult March of the Living; each has served on several BJE committees. Don is a past member of the Board of Temple Beth Am and chairs BJE’s Audit Committee. 
Don and Rachael’s son and daughter attended Pressman Academy through 8th grade, and both graduated from secular high school. Their son spent summers at Camp Ramah and now lives in Israel.

BJE and the LA Jewish community are grateful to Rachael Gordon and Don Snyder, Alan Petlak and Sharon De Mayo for their decades of support and leadership. We hope you will join BJE on February 25, 2024, to honor these distinguished community leaders in Jewish education.

The deadline for tributes is Jan. 19. Click here for Gala information.